From – I don’t like vegetables to I want to be a Vegan

This has been an interesting week around here.  My teenage daughter this week decided she wants to be vegan.  Now mind you this child passed on most vegetables with our meals.  I have been working to get her away from eating all processed and junk foods an onto healthier non-red meat options for quite a while.  This is a more extreme option but so far this week we have been enjoying time together making many new vegan dishes for her to try.  Tofu and legumes have become our friend. 

We have made dishes from our  Everything Indian Cookbook, Del Sroufe’s Forks over Knives book  and our Everything Vegan Cookbook. 

I have been enjoying teaching her to cook as she hadn’t shown much interest in cooking yet as with me around my kids are spoiled and expect great food on the table. 

We have spent time on knife skills and made it through her first cut finger while slicing vegetables. 

2014-08-04 21.29.45
Gluten Free Vegan Banana Bread

This banana bread is rice flour based without eggs or butter.  It has a wonderful taste and has a bread-like moist texture.  I adapted a Moosewood Cookbook recipe to use vegan margarine, chia seed and maple syrup.  The next time I make it, I will reduce the tapioca flour to see if it has more crumb.

2014-07-31 10.45.09
Breakfast Scramble and a Kale Banana Smoothie

This is a healthy breakfast option with a high vegetable content and a Indian flavor profile. 

We will continue our journey together and share it with you. 

Leave a Reply

