Fall Harvest Season- one of my favorite times of year

Now that the leaves are turning and the days are getting crisper – I just love the smell of fall in the air and all the fall harvest produce.  I have been busy in the kitchen working with some of my favorites:  Apples and the end of the green beans from the garden.

Fall canning and preserving are tasks I enjoy doing each year.  This year I spent a day in the kitchen with my 17 year old son (yes he still likes to spend time with me cooking and learning about food).  This year I put him to work as my sous chef peeling the 1/2 bushel of apples for the applesauce.  He, even at this age – looks forward to those fresh quarts of applesauce each fall and winter when it can be hard to get fresh fruit.  His time in the kitchen with me is some of the most talkative time we have and he is considering a career in culinary and hotel and restaurant management as he looks to his future.  I treasure spending time with him in the kitchen and he has a true appreciation for healthy homemade food.

Applesauce - the beginning
Applesauce – the beginning
Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Applesauce
Brown Sugar and Cinnamon Applesauce

We also love the first apple pie of the fall season and with my need to be gluten free, I reached out to chefs I know for a workable gluten free crust.   I shared it in my earlier blog on special diets but because it worked well there and in the pie we made I am sharing it again – so those who need it will have it for the upcoming Thanksgiving holiday season.   It  may need you to piece it back together on the edges but it worked and tasted better than conventional crust.  My whole family loved it.

http://mycruisestories.com/2011/12/24/the-amazing-rollable-gluten-free-pie-crust/%C2%A0

First Gluten-Free Apple Pie of the Season
First Gluten-Free Apple Pie of the Season

Since we also have the adventure of vegan eating in my house, I also made an apple crisp topped with oats brown sugar and coconut oil for the crunch topping – no butter allowed for my very vegan daughter.

2014-09-21 15.01.26
Vegan Apple Crisp

Then I moved on to the purple pole bean harvest.

2014-08-31 11.50.47
Purple Runner Beans for Dill Beans

Here is the recipe for dilly beans.   http://www.simplycanning.com/dilly-beans.html

I also blanched and froze several pounds of beans.

2014-08-31 11.10.20
Dilly Beans after blanching for freezing

I just wish they kept that beautiful purple color after blanching but alas – they are very green.  We will have fresh tasting beans in the winter and the best part is I grew them organically from heirloom non-gmo seeds.

Leave a Reply

